Press "Enter" to skip to content

Congressman LaMalfa Announces Winner of the 2022 Congressional Art Competition

(Washington, D.C.) – Today, Congressman Doug LaMalfa (R – Richvale) announced the winner of the Spring 2022 Congressional Art Competition. Casey Lee Rhine, a Paradise resident and Sophomore at Core Butte High School, was awarded first place for their submission, “The Remains”, which is a symbol for the destruction of the 2018 Camp Fire. Each spring, the Congressional Institute sponsors a nation-wide high school visual art competition. The theme this year was “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles. America’s Open Roads and Open Skies”.

Casey’s picture will be displayed in the U.S. Capitol for one year along with artwork from other contest winners nation-wide. Casey will receive two tickets to fly to Washington, D.C. and take part in viewing their art in the exhibition and attend a reception in the U.S. Capitol held in honor of the Congressional Art Competition winners.

I’m so pleased to announce that Casey Lee Rhine was the winner of this year’s Congressional Art Competition. Thank you to all our Northern California students who submitted their artwork; we had a big turnout, and I’m inspired to see the great talent and artistic abilities of these students. The Congressional Art Competition is a tremendous opportunity for talented young adults to compete to showcase their abilities to the entire country. This year’s theme allows our young artists to highlight the unparalleled beauty of the North State, and I look forward to seeing “The Remains” displayed in our nation’s Capitol building,” said Congressman LaMalfa.

a symbol of the campfire this charred 1965 Ford Mustang is a monument that holds powerful meaning the main elements are the tree extending from behind the roof to represent new growth the dark grill focal point and the balloon tied to the roof pillar to r


Congressman Doug LaMalfa is a lifelong farmer representing California’s First Congressional District, including Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou and Tehama Counties. 


Go to Source