Press "Enter" to skip to content

Pelosi Announces Members of Conference Committee for America COMPETES Act

Washington, D.C. – Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced the names of the Members of the House who will go to conference with the Senate over the House’s America COMPETES Act of 2022, which makes crucial investments in the production of semiconductor chips, strengthening supply chains, and bolstering research and development.


“Today, we take another step toward sending to the President’s desk a bipartisan, bicameral package to lower costs at home, make more goods in America and turbocharge our competitiveness in the world,” Speaker Nancy Pelosi said.  “America has long led the world in innovation and technology.  Thanks to the leadership of Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson, the House strengthens our preeminence with our America COMPETES Act: a data-driven, results-oriented package to lift up American families, workers and businesses.”


“Under the leadership of our outstanding and experienced committee chairs and conferees, the House will champion key priorities with bipartisan support that will advance our families’ financial security and our nations’ economic security,” Speaker Pelosi continued.  “This includes investing $52 billion to produce more semiconductor chips in America and $45 billion to advance manufacturing at home – which together will help address supply chain disruptions that increase costs for Americans.  We will also fight to reinvigorate American innovation through research and development, diversify our STEM workforce, and promote American interests and values abroad.  Making the COMPETES Act law will deliver a key victory for our workers and families, while ensuring America can outcompete any nation – now and for decades to come.” 


The Members appointed by Speaker Pelosi to serve on the conference committee with the Senate are:


Science, Space, and Technology

  • Chair Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas
  • Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren of California
  • Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici of Oregon
  • Congressman Ami Bera of California
  • Congresswoman Haley Stevens of Michigan
  • Congressman Jamaal Bowman of New York  
  • Congressman Bill Foster of Illinois


Energy and Commerce

  • Chair Frank Pallone, Jr. of New Jersey
  • Congresswoman Anna Eshoo of California
  • Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky of Illinois
  • Congresswoman Doris Matsui of California
  • Congressman Paul Tonko of New York
  • Congresswoman Lisa Blunt Rochester of Delaware
  • Congressman Darren Soto of Florida


Foreign Affairs

  • Chair Gregory W. Meeks of New York
  • Congressman Ted Deutch of Florida
  • Congresswoman Karen Bass of California
  • Congressman Joaquin Castro of Texas
  • Congresswoman Chrissy Houlahan of Pennsylvania
  • Congresswoman Sara Jacobs of California
  • Congressman Adam Kinzinger of Illinois


Ways and Means

  • Chair Richard E. Neal of Massachusetts
  • Congressman Earl Blumenauer of Oregon
  • Congressman Danny Davis of Illinois
  • Congresswoman Suzan DelBene of Washington
  • Congresswoman Judy Chu of California
  • Congressman Dan Kildee of Michigan
  • Congressman Jimmy Gomez of California



  • Chair David Scott of Georgia
  • Congresswoman Chellie Pingree of Maine


Armed Services

  • Congressman Donald Norcross of New Jersey
  • Congresswoman Veronica Escobar of Texas


Education and Labor

  • Chair Robert C. “Bobby” Scott of Virginia
  • Congressman Joe Morelle of New York


Financial Services

  • Chair Maxine Waters of California
  • Congresswoman Sylvia Garcia of Texas


Homeland Security

  • Congresswoman Dina Titus of Nevada
  • Congresswoman Val Demings of Florida



  • Chair Jerrold Nadler of New York
  • Congresswoman Mary Gay Scanlon of Pennsylvania


Natural Resources

  • Chair Raúl M. Grijalva of Arizona
  • Congressman Donald McEachin of Virginia


Oversight and Reform

  • Chair Carolyn B. Maloney of New York
  • Congressman Ro Khanna of California


Small Business

  • Chair Nydia Velázquez of New York
  • Congresswoman Sharice Davids of Kansas


Transportation and Infrastructure

  • Chair Peter DeFazio of Oregon
  • Congressman Tom Malinowski of New Jersey


Veterans Affairs

  • Chair Mark Takano of California
  • Congressman Chris Pappas of New Hampshire


# # #


Go to Source