Press "Enter" to skip to content

McCarthy Announces Tulare County Recipients of 23rd Congressional District of California Merit Awards

Today, Congressman Kevin McCarthy announced Tulare County students and teachers who are this year’s recipients of the 23rd Congressional District of California Merit Award and Inspirational High School Educator Award.
McCarthy released the following statement:
“In a challenging year when so many students and teachers have faced the difficulties of remote learning, this year’s awards are truly special. Our students have exhibited determination and tenacity – remaining on task with assignments while developing relationships with their classmates virtually. Teachers have shown innovation and compassion – creating novel ways to engage with their students to ensure they are receiving the best educational experience possible amid uncertain and unprecedented circumstances. All, however, have been brilliant examples of what it means to persevere despite adversity, and I congratulate them on this notable achievement today.”

2021 Merit Award Recipients for Tulare County


  • Miss Chloe Ross – Granite Hills High School
  • Miss Lena Bennett – Harmony Magnet Academy
  • Mr. Hassoon Sarwar – Monache High School
  • Mr. Aaron Morales – Porterville High School
  • Miss Citlali Romero – Strathmore High School

2021 Inspirational High School Educator Award Recipients for Tulare County


  • Mrs. Sandra Verduzco – Granite Hills High School
  • Ms. Vicky Edwards – Harmony Magnet Academy
  • Mr. Matthew Sonstegard – Monache High School
  • Dr. Pam Avila – Porterville High School
  • Ms. Dana Resendez – Strathmore High School

Go to Source