Press "Enter" to skip to content

Harris, Lawmakers Introduce No War Against Iran Act

January 09, 2020

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Kamala D. Harris (D-CA) on Thursday joined Senator Bernie Sanders (I-VT) and 11 of their Senate colleagues in introducing the No War Against Iran Act, which would deny the Pentagon of any funds for unauthorized use of military force against Iran. A measure to prohibit funds for an unconstitutional war with Iran passed by a bipartisan 251-member vote in the House of Representatives last year, though it was later stripped from the National Defense Authorization Act enacted in December. 

“I am concerned about the potential consequences of conflict with Iran and the president’s apparent lack of a coherent strategy going forward,” said Sen. Kamala Harris. “Make no mistake: Soleimani was an enemy of the United States, but Trump’s actions have further enflamed tensions and destabilized the region. It is essential that Congress take its constitutional responsibility seriously and work to de-escalate the situation.”

Along with Harris and Sanders, the No War Against Iran Act is cosponsored by Senators Schumer (D-NY), Leahy (D-VT), Markey (D-MA), Wyden (D-OR), Gillibrand (D-NY), Baldwin (D-WI), Cantwell (D-WA), Warren (D-Mass.), Van Hollen (D-MD), Blumenthal (D-CT), and Merkley (D-OR).

Representative Ro Khanna (D-CA) introduced a companion measure to defund unauthorized military action against Iran in the House of Representatives, with 58 cosponsors.

Text of the legislation can be found here.


Go to Source